Skip to content

How to Turn Off Apple’s Find My App Tracking

How to Turn Off Apple’s Find My App Tracking. With Apple’s Discover My app on iPhone, iPad, and Mac, you may monitor the placement of a misplaced telephone, discover lacking baggage with an AirTag, or hold tabs on shut family and friends members (with permission). We advocate you retain it on for these causes, however there are occasions once you’ll have to shut it off.

Maybe you are promoting your machine and have to disconnect it out of your Apple ID earlier than wiping it. Possibly you simply need to purge your machine of the companies (and other people) who can monitor your location. Regardless of the motive, you may shut down the Discover My app in a couple of simple steps.


Flip Off Discover My Companies

If you might want to rapidly shut every thing down, together with location and machine monitoring, head to Settings > [your name] > Discover My > Discover My iPhone. Faucet the change subsequent to Discover My iPhone, then enter your Apple ID password to disable the service. For iPad customers, the directions are the identical however the choices will say Discover My iPad as a substitute.

It is best to discover two different choices on this display screen. Discover My community, which is able to permit your machine to be tracked even when it is offline. Ship Final Location will routinely ship your location when the battery is low. If you happen to do not need to flip every thing off, you may as a substitute flip one or each of those choices off to reduce when your location is tracked.


Take away Particular person Gadgets

remove device

There are a number of methods to take away a particular machine from the Discover My app. On cell, open Settings and faucet your identify. Scroll all the way down to view the totally different gadgets, choose the one you want to take away, then choose Take away from Account to disconnect it out of your Apple ID. It’s also possible to take away gadgets from the Discover My app beneath the Gadgets tab. Faucet a tool and choose Take away This Machine from the pop-up menu to disconnect it out of your account.

icloud device

One other method to do that is from the iCloud website, the place you choose Discover iPhone, click on your identify within the right-hand nook and select Account Settings. Choose the machine from the My Gadgets part and click on Take away.

find my mac

Mac customers who’ve Discover My arrange can go to System Preferences > Apple ID and click on Choices subsequent to Discover My Mac. You possibly can then flip off Discover My Mac and Discover My community.

Advisable by Our Editors


Flip Off Location Sharing

location sharing

If you need some privateness, there are a couple of methods to cease sharing your location with different customers. It’s also possible to select to cease sharing it with everybody or simply particular folks. The simplest method is to open the Discover My app and choose the Me tab. Flip off Share My Location to stop folks from understanding the place you’re.

For particular person folks, open the Individuals tab and choose a particular contact. You possibly can then select Cease Sharing My Location to cover your self from them, or select Take away Buddy to delete them fully.

mac location services

If you happen to’re on a Mac, you may flip off location monitoring beneath System Preferences > Safety & Privateness > Location Companies. Click on the lock icon to make adjustments, enter your consumer password, after which uncheck the field subsequent to Discover My. Click on the lock once more to avoid wasting the change.

How to Turn Off Apple’s Find My App Tracking